Mix & Match

I got a Tumblr a few  weeks ago and right way I found one of the coolest blogs, Where I See Fashion. I honestly thought Tumblr was only for fangirls posting things that they wouldn’t admit in real life. however I was surprised when the first blog I found that I really liked was about fashion (which is something I’m interested in).

The blog consists of  posts where two photographs, one of which has to do with  fashion, are compered to each other due to there similarities such as the the examples below.

Match #217<br /><br /><br />
Wylie Hays by David Schulze for Surface #99 | Night view of a cloudy valley<br /><br /><br />
More matches here

Match #214<br /><br /><br />
Picture by Hong Jang Hyun for W Korea March 2012 | Artwork by Six &amp; Five Studio<br /><br /><br />
More matches here

The blog immediately caught my eye. I thought it was so cool and pretty. It really inspires me to  continue with art,  as I had began to doubt whether it was worth devoting so much time to.

The blog was created by Milan born fashion design graduate Bianca Luini.  Luini began her blog after she found two pictures that looked similar to each other while doing an image research for a university project. She noticed this with many other photographs and decided to make a blog where shoe could organize and share them.

https://i1.wp.com/photos-b.ak.instagram.com/hphotos-ak-xpf1/t51.2885-15/10724885_628084797297569_270358105_n.jpg

Bianca Luini, follow her Instagram here.

 

Luini says that she finds about 99% of the photos she uses on Tumblr. It can take seconds to even weeks to find matches. Her blog has been in 81 different publications and was even recognized by supermodel Coco Rocha when she mentioned it on her twitter saying that it was one of her “all time favorite fashion Tumblr accounts”. Luini says she wishes to become a fashion photographer and or fashion editor for a magazine.

I wondered how much growing up in Milan and having the talent she has affected  her personal style. In an interview with Nasty Gal she says that her personal style ranges from a part of  her wanting “to wear only t-shirts, jeans and sneakers, and the other part just [wanting] to wear elegant dresses and fancy shoes”.  I feel that that is totally me. I want to dress up everyday, but then realize that I don’t have enough nice clothes to where something stylish everyday. And then there is another part that just keeps on saying, why does it even matter.

There’s this quote that I absolutely love: “if your dreams don’t scare you they aren’t big enough.” It’s important to keep trying to follow our dreams even if it can be scary sometimes, because the best things happen when you have to step out of your comfort zone. It’s hard, but it’ll be worth it!-Bianca Luini

I honestly have no idea what to do with my life right now, I have to figure out what I want to do for the rest of my life and what college to go to. So this quote just reminds me that nothing is too high to achieve and to not to settle.

The more I read about Luini the more I love what she does and her. I swear I found my spirit animal. She told Paradise Magazine that travel is the best inspiration; from the different “cultures, landscapes, way of livings and clothing, different foods, local art, and so on”. I love learning about different cultures,  just like Luini and I’ve always wanted to work as part of a fashion magazine and I wish I could  travel to a different place everyday. But unfortunately I seriously live in my room.

It amazes me that something so simple can be so inspiring. Sometimes I come across things and think “I could have done that”,  but in reality I most likely wouldn’t have. Luini has also said that she was never the best at anything, which really surprises me, she is so talented, hopefully I’ll be able to create something as creative and inspiring as Luini.

These are some of my favorite posts by her.

Match #9<br />For more matches check out whereiseefashion x

This is Luini’s favorite match o far.

Match #164<br /><br />
Magdalena Frackowiak at John Galliano Fall 2009 | Dew Drops on Peony (detail) by Hanne Lore Koehler<br /><br />
More matches here

Match #159<br /><br /><br />
Benjamin Jarvis by Thomas Cooksey for HERO Magazine | Building in Eindhoven, Netherlands photographed by Gijs Leussink<br /><br /><br />
More matches here

Match #87<br /><br /><br />
The Blonds RTW Spring 2014 | Green crystals<br /><br /><br />
More matches here 

Match #22<br /><br /><br />
For more matches check out whereiseefashion xMatch #25<br /><br /><br />
For more matches check out whereiseefashion xMatch #31<br /><br /><br />
For more matches check out whereiseefashion x

2 thoughts on “Mix & Match

Leave a Reply

