It’s The Most Dreadful Time of the Year

It’s that time of the year again. Red, green, and white everywhere. It always puts people in a good mood, but like most people that know me will tell you, I’m not the biggest fan of holidays. I never really understood why I just can’t get into the mood of the holidays, especially Christmas, which everyone loves and whose fever seems to last forever. Th e other day I was watching TV with my mom when a commercial came on advertising all the sales for the Christmas season, I looked over to my mom and said “I’ve never liked this time of year” and she responded with “me neither”, which surprised me because me and my mom are completely different people.

I deliberated on the idea of why I don’t like it and I think I finally know why. I knew that part of it had to do with a short period of time in my life when my family didn’t celebrate anything because the religion we had newly transferred into did not allow it. I learned where all these holidays we celebrate it originated from, how they evolved over the years, and the reasons why some people decided not to participate in these celebrations. This ruined part of the illusion of the festivities. however even after that part of my life was left behind the holidays just didn’t bring the joy that everyone else indulges upon.

I had an epiphany (I’ve always wanted to use that word) that I experienced that finally made me understand why I don’t like holidays. My family lives far away from our relatives and we barely ever get to see them. Obstacles always keep us away from being together. The few family we do have that live close to us, well it’s not that we are on bad terms, but we just don’t really talk. That’s another story for another day. So while everyone else is talking about going to grandma’s, hanging out with cousins(even that annoying ones), and being forced to get a hug from all their aunts, I’m at home trying to find a channel that isn’t showing Home Alone.

The holidays just remind me that I’m not with my family and all those memories I will never be able to tell because they were never created. Time flies, and in our struggle of trying to keep up with it we forget the worries that we had yesterday, but there is always something that makes us stop and face our weaknesses and fears. And it happens to be that holidays are one of my ‘something’. Maybe If I would have grown up spending all the holidays with my family I would have a different perspective of them and actually enjoy them, but I don’t think that’s going to change anytime soon. 

 

Leave a Reply

