Sometimes Less is More

I don’t know why, but I have always loved photographs with only people’s faces on them. I’m always impressed with how much a simple picture like that can say so much. Since the eyes are the windows to the soul, it’s not surprising to be mesmerized by them. However what always catches my attention are photographs of older people. Wrinkles are seen as such a negative thing. People spend hundreds of dollars on them, and everything else that depicts any signs of age.

Let’s not even began to talk about mixed people. Almost every mixed person I’ve ever met is super pretty and they have such an interesting look to them. I’m Latina and I love how diverse the Latin community is. You can seriously find every shade, even just looking at my family; one of my sisters has really light skin compared to most of our family and then another one looks like she can be African American during the summer.

I don’t know if it makes sense, but one of my friends always says how much she likes someones face. Not like there hot or attractive, it’s just that they have really nice or cool faces.It may seem weird, but the other day I saw this guy who had such a cool face. I just wanted to go up to him and say “hey can I draw our face cause it’s awesome”. But how awkward and weird would that be.

Let me just show you some of the photos I’m talking about:

Photograph depicted in the June 1985 cover of of The National Geographic Magazine.

This picture was taken by Steve McCurry in June 1984 while visiting refugee camps along the Afghanistan-Pakistan border. As he was walking around he came across a girl who “had this really kind of haunted look in her eye”. McCurry continues to say that her eyes “summed up the horror” that came with the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan in 1979.  Apparently this photograph was originally not going to be on the cover of the magazine because it was too disturbing. However after it was published it became one of the most famous photographs in the world and a search began to find the girl in it. Once found, Sharbat Gula, was once again on the cover of the April 2002 edition.

Photograph by Dmitri Markine

Wait, What…..this person actually exists. She reminds me of the witch from Snow White, this is honestly one of the coolest photographs I have ever seen. Check out Dmitri Markine, he has plenty more photographs like this one.

Photograph by David Lazar

OHMYGOD! Those eyes…………….

Photograph by Alex Treadway

This just puts me in a good mood.

Photograph by Marie Brizard

“Charcoal Factory ” by Mio Cade

This photograph was taken at a Charcoal factory in Manila, Philippines. Kids are hired because of the cheap salary and their small sizes. According to Cade the little girl kept on asking her to take a picture of her playing with the hula hoop. It just amazes me how easy my life is, when there is other people in the world that live in such terrible conditions.

Photograph by Ami Vitale

Photograph by Matilde Berk

This was the face the man made after the photographer told him that she was in love with his face. She understands!

Photograph by Eric Lafforgue

Check out more photos here.

 

 

 

One thought on “Sometimes Less is More

Leave a comment